Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_top position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_bottom position below the menu.










Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_bottom position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_top position below the search.

Welcome to the Diocese of NW Texas

NWT Shield bg small2Welcome to the Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Northwest Texas--a place where the vast open plains are as wondrous as the big sky above!... The landscape, covering 77,000 square miles is as diverse as... READ MORE...

Bishop Julio Holguin's Visit. Event: June 27, 2016
Ordination of Jill Walters When: June 26, 2016
Hulsey Center Closed When: July 4, 2016

Keep up to date with NWT Diocesan news and events via our email newsletter. Subscribe today!

  • Register

Camp Quarterman Youth Summer Camp 2016

June 5-11 & July 3-9

 "Just Do This!" is this year's theme for the 2016 NWT Diocesan Youth Summer Camp Program. Register your student today for Camp Quarterman June 5-11 (for completed grades 6th-12th) and Camp Quarterman Jr July 3-9 (for completed grades 2nd-6th).

Online registration is now available!.  Scholarships and Financial Aid is available.  No one will be turned away from attending camp because of financial burden.  Please contact Renee at 806-445-3667 for more information. A downloadable registration packet is also available if you do not wish to register online.

The Ordination of Jim Walker to the Priesthood

St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Levelland
banner jimw wife bishop

The Rev. Jim Walker, a transitional deacon and recent graduate of the Northwest Texas School of Ordained Ministry, was ordained to the Sacred Order of Priests on Tuesday, June 21st, at 6:00pm. The service was held at St. Luke's Episcopal Church in Levelland, the same church that raised him up to ordained ministry. The Rt. Rev. J. Scott Mayer, Bishop of Northwest Texas, presi...

Bishop Holguin to Visit NW Texas

Episcopal Diocese of Northwest Texas
DR banner

One specific outcome from General Convention 2015, was the reduction of funding over this triennium for dioceses in Province IX of The Episcopal Church, which includes Colombia, Dominican Republic (DR,) Central Ecuador, Litoral Ecuador, Honduras, Puerto Rico and Venezuela. This ruling increases the need for the dioceses to become self-supportive. The diocese which is most likely to become the first self-sustaining diocese in Province IX is our close friends in ministry, the Diocese of the Dominican Republic. The diocese of Northwest Texas has had a long-standing rela...

NWT Diocese, A Faith 
Community of Hope

The Diocese of Northwest Texas is comprised of eighty counties covering 77,000 square miles. Northwest Texas became a missionary district in 1911 when the Missionary District of Northern Texas split into two regions: the Diocese of Dallas and the Missionary District of North Texas by action of the General Convention and petitioned the General Convention to become a diocese in 1958. The diocese is the home of 32 parishes, missions and congregations; six schools; and one retirement center in Odessa.

Learn More About Us

Episcopal Video Programming

Episcopal News Feed

Our Diocesan Staff

Calendar of Events
“The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ, in 109 dioceses and three regional areas in 17 nations.  The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.”

Meet Our Bishop of the NW Texas Diocese

bishop mayer profile
Bishop James Scott Mayer Bishop since 2009
Bishop Mayers Consecration 3
Consecration March 21, 2009 Click image to view video
At the Special Electing Convention held at St. Paul's Episcopal Church in Lubbock on November 22nd, 2008, the Rev. James Scott Mayer, Rector of the Church of the Heavenly Rest in Abilene, Texas, was elected the Fifth Bishop of the Diocese of Northwest Texas. Fr. Mayer was elected on the second ballot.

Bishop Mayer was consecrated on Saturday, March 21st, at First United Methodist Church in Lubbock. Our Presiding Bishop, the Most Rev. Dr. Katharine Jefferts Schori, was the chief consecrator and was joined by Bishops from around the Church.

Learn More About Our Bishop